Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals (RR) | IPL 2018

IPL T20 Events 2018

The Rajasthan Royals (RR) is a cricket team in the Indian Premier League from the city of Jaipur. Founded in 2008 as one of the initial eight IPL franchises, the Royals are owned by Manoj Badale. The team played its home matches at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur and also had secondary home grounds at the Sardar Patel Stadium at Ahmedabad and the Brabourne Stadium at Mumbai.

The Royals are sometimes considered the Moneyball team of the IPL. The Royals are known to unearth obscure exciting talent. The team won the inaugural edition of the IPL under the captaincy of Shane Warne, despite being written off as a title contender by the media and fans. The Royals were also the runners-up of the 2013 Champions League Twenty20 under Rahul Dravid’s captaincy.

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals – IPL 2008 season:

In their first home game ever at Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur, they played against the Kings XI Punjab and won by 6 wickets as Shane Watson was declared the man of the match for his unbeaten 76 off 49 balls in what was a successful run chase. That was followed by a crucial 3 wicket win against one of the favorites to win the competition, Deccan Chargers in Hyderabad. The victory proved to be a huge morale booster for the side since this was their first away win and second successful run chase on the trot, as Yusuf Pathan made a name for himself with his first man of the match award for his bowling figures of 2/20 in 4 overs and a 28-ball 61.

Watson almost replicated Yusuf’s all-round performance in the following match against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Bangalore as another run chase was completed. In the 7 wicket victory, ‘Watto’ picked 2/20 in 4 overs and smashed 61 not out off 41 balls. Their next game was another crucial one, against the Kolkata Knight Riders at home and Rajasthan won convincingly by 45 runs as the diminutive opener from Goa, Swapnil Asnodkar received his first man of the match award for a fine knock of 60 off just 34 balls.

They further managed to defeat the Chennai Super Kings in Jaipur, as Pakistan’s Sohail Tanvir continued to show his red hot bowling form in the game, picking 6 wickets for 14 runs in 4 overs, winning the man of the match award for the same. But a minor hiccup followed, as they were thrashed by 7 wickets by the unpredictable Mumbai Indians in Navi Mumbai.

Rajasthan Royals Ban in 2015:

Rajasthan Royals became the source of controversy when inappropriate and fictitious bids were made, violating BCCI norms. Ranjit Barthakur and Fraser Castellino were the only two shareholders of the Jaipur IPL, completely unknown to the BCCI at the time. An out of court settlement between the two later ensued. In 2015 Rajasthan Royals were banned for two years by the BCCI, with its owner Raj Kundra banned for life.

If You like, Share this with other Peoples

5 thoughts on “Rajasthan Royals (RR) | IPL 2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.